Educator Workforce Advisory Task Force

This project leverages the resources of various stakeholders in the education system to increase novice teacher retention in high-need school districts and schools. In the first phase of this project, a task force is examining challenges to new teacher retention and developing a conceptual framework for a collaborative initiative to address these challenges. Such an initiative might address induction models, the distribution of new teachers across schools, entry-level compensation, and other factors affecting new teachers. The task force includes teacher educators, teachers, principals, district administrators, school board members, state leaders, and others.

Learn more about the Task Force

Educator Workforce Advisory Task Force Members

  • Sharon Robinson, President and CEO, American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (Chair)
  • Lisa Stooksberry, Sr. Vice President, Standards & Assessment, National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (Facilitator)
  • Becky Pringle, Secretary-Treasurer, National Educational Association
  • Thomas Gentzel, Executive Director, National School Board Association
  • Gail Connelly, Executive Director/President, National Association of Elementary School Principals
  • JoAnn Bartoletti, Executive Director, National Association of Secondary School Principals
  • Sarah K. Silverman, Ph.D., Program Director, Teacher and Leader Effectiveness, National Governors Association
  • Janice Poda, Ph.D., Strategic Initiative Director, Education Workforce, Council of Chief State School Officers
  • Emily Feistritzer, Ph.D., President/Chief Executive Officer, National Center for Education Information and TeachNow Inc.
  • Delia Garcia, Ed.D., Dean, College of Education, Florida International University
  • Olga M. Welch, Ed.D., Dean, School of Education, Duquesne University
  • Leslie Fenwick, Ph.D., Dean, School of Education, Howard University
  • Alison Hilsabeck, Ph.D., Dean, School of Education, National-Louis University
  • Tracy Schuster-Matlock, Ph.D., Dean, University Academic Programs, St. Ambrose University
  • Ken Witmer, Ph.D., Dean, College of Education, West Chester University
  • Francine Lawrence, Executive Vice President, American Federation of Teachers
  • Melinda George, President, National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future
  • Suzanne Donovan, Ph.D., Executive Director, The Strategic Education Research Partnership (SERP) Institute

Staff contact: Tim Finklea